New Invasion Server?

Ideas for improving Starport:GE

Moderators: Moleman, Kwijibo, Luna

-Muffin-

New Invasion Server?

Post by -Muffin- » Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:57 pm

K, so I'm not an expert on perma mechanics, but hear me out.

It seems that Rag has turned into mostly a building server, probably because there's no shields anymore. And I think I'm speaking for most when I say that a building server is no server at all. And it would be a shame to see Rag's activity die because you're not only limited by warp fuel, but by the availability of shields as well.

And once all but Rag, GA, Boundless, and P1 are gone, I think we could have room for 1 more server.

So... How about a server designed specifically for vading?
Tons of ports. Tons of negs. Cheap solars(25 or 50 iron). No mods (quicker building). Lots of shields. Random layouts. Small hop distances. 6 corp size. No asteroids.

So basically, there'd be a ton of 10/100s, and lots of shields and negs to keep trying to cap these hard as sh1t mofos. You could just invade all day! Maybe even bring back 10/120s.

I personally would love a small server size for this, like P6 (to force people upon each other), but I'm worried that without the hope of having 6mil followers one day, people might not want to play it. Thoughts, please.

Basically, all these aspects are designed to allow players to be able to easily build an empire, and for people to easily be able to invade such an empire. The building would have to be pretty easy (hence the 500 holds), so that builders aren't deterred by the constant vading. And the ability to build b1tchin solars should help as well.

I'd appreciate other's thoughts on this. Too many servers just turn into building servers. I'd like that to change, but I'd like the opinions of you veteran perma'ers.

Love,
Muffin

P.S. I didn't create a poll because I'd like to know what the community wants before writing up a final draft and submitting it to a yes or no.

godman

Re: New Invasion Server?