GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Ideas for improving Starport:GE

Moderators: Moleman, Kwijibo, Luna

Post Reply
User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by StarLAN » Fri Aug 12, 2011 4:40 am

I would like to see an Enhanced GoTo Command:
This feature would allow the goto feature bring your ship to a specified sector and planet (or port) and then land on that planet. example:

/goto Alpha Mensae 1a - (for planet landing)
-or-
/goto [541,730,1a] - (for planet landing)
-------------------------------------------------
/goto Alpha Mensae port - (for port docking)
-or-
/goto [541,730,p] - (for port docking)

This idea would be helpful in the event you had to leave the room while in mid flight, you ship would find it's destination and then land there keeping you safe from impending doom you may run into while floating in space.
It would also be helpful if you suffered from short-term memory loss (support the handicapped) and could not remember the sector and planet/port that you were heading to. You could key the goto location of an artifact, home sector, or port for safe haven against pirates, bad NPC's (great for beginners)

I think this idea has merrit and would like feedback from other players, please.
Last edited by StarLAN on Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Mel'Kaven
Posts: 2187
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:58 am
Location: Kittehville
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by Mel'Kaven » Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:07 am

This would be very awesome.

Arti Hunting will never be easier

JesusRocks765
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:57 am

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by JesusRocks765 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:02 pm

and if your gonna enhance that, please add a hotkey you hold down and then set multiple Autopilot Destinations :D

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by StarLAN » Sat Aug 13, 2011 8:11 pm

Mel'Kaven wrote:This would be very awesome.

Arti Hunting will never be easier
It won't make arti hunting any easier because you'll still have to maneuver the planet to get the arti but, it could be helpful when fleeing from enemies -or- if you have to leave the room unexpected; at least you won't be left floating in space until you return... that could be dangerous.

User avatar
Mel'Kaven
Posts: 2187
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:58 am
Location: Kittehville
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by Mel'Kaven » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:36 pm

StarLAN wrote:
Mel'Kaven wrote:This would be very awesome.

Arti Hunting will never be easier
It won't make arti hunting any easier because you'll still have to maneuver the planet to get the arti but, it could be helpful when fleeing from enemies -or- if you have to leave the room unexpected; at least you won't be left floating in space until you return... that could be dangerous.
Lol you've never been to an Arti and forgot what planet it was on and had to search all of the planets? Lol.

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by StarLAN » Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:12 am

Mel'Kaven wrote:
StarLAN wrote:
Mel'Kaven wrote:This would be very awesome.

Arti Hunting will never be easier
It won't make arti hunting any easier because you'll still have to maneuver the planet to get the arti but, it could be helpful when fleeing from enemies -or- if you have to leave the room unexpected; at least you won't be left floating in space until you return... that could be dangerous.
Lol you've never been to an Arti and forgot what planet it was on and had to search all of the planets? Lol.
That's what scanners are for... lol

JesusRocks765
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:57 am

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by JesusRocks765 » Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:35 am

or copying the loc and planet name,

now any responses to assigning a hotkey where you can add more destinations to go to in order assigned? That would be Great :D

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by StarLAN » Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:06 pm

JesusRocks765 wrote:or copying the loc and planet name,
now any responses to assigning a hotkey where you can add more destinations to go to in order assigned? That would be Great :D
Nahh...
I don't want to make things too complicated... if we move one-step-at-a-time the idea is more likely to be embraced.
The more tags and add-ons you do to a single modification, the more likely it will be rejected due to a number of reasons.

My original idea is all I am asking for consideration in this thread, if you want to add multiple macros it should be a separate idea.

JesusRocks765
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:57 am

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by JesusRocks765 » Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:24 pm

whats wrong with queing Autopilot? Doesnt Sound to complicated to me, I say add it as well :D

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by StarLAN » Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:11 am

JesusRocks765 wrote:whats wrong with queing Autopilot? Doesnt Sound to complicated to me, I say add it as well :D
Nothing is wrong with your idea however, your adding to my idea does not conform to the forum guidelines and may stall any potential progress with my suggestion.

Please read the forum guidelines:
Quote:
Guidelines for Idea Threads
Single Post, Single Idea - Keep idea threads about a single idea or concept. Easier to answer, easier to respond to, easier to moderate, easier to prepare for developer consideration. If you feel you have so many ideas that a roundup thread seems better, you should pick the two or three best ideas of the lot and make separate threads.

JesusRocks765
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:57 am

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by JesusRocks765 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:39 am

ok, If your idea alone goes through, I will make a Separate thread :D

User avatar
Mel'Kaven
Posts: 2187
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:58 am
Location: Kittehville
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by Mel'Kaven » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:56 pm

StarLAN wrote:
Mel'Kaven wrote:
StarLAN wrote: It won't make arti hunting any easier because you'll still have to maneuver the planet to get the arti but, it could be helpful when fleeing from enemies -or- if you have to leave the room unexpected; at least you won't be left floating in space until you return... that could be dangerous.
Lol you've never been to an Arti and forgot what planet it was on and had to search all of the planets? Lol.
That's what scanners are for... lol
Who seriously uses a mod spot for nutrinos

jonnybowler8
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:31 pm

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by jonnybowler8 » Fri Sep 09, 2011 2:18 am

LIKE IT!!! maybe a way to auto navigate asteroids too if this gets implemented? (I am sick and tired of taking the time to type goto [XXX,XXX] and get stuck 1 or 2 hops in because autopilot likes asteroids!) <--- does this mean i have to make a new thread or is it ok here. also idk how to make one :( anyone able to help?

User avatar
Toonces
Site Admin
Posts: 1608
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:23 am
Location: Beta Canum Venaticorum
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by Toonces » Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:34 am

JesusRocks765 wrote:and if your gonna enhance that, please add a hotkey you hold down and then set multiple Autopilot Destinations :D
This already exists. You hold down the alt key or something to set waypoints on your autopilot.

This idea is pretty good, hopefully i can get around to it.

JesusRocks765
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:57 am

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by JesusRocks765 » Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:31 am

Toonces wrote:
JesusRocks765 wrote:and if your gonna enhance that, please add a hotkey you hold down and then set multiple Autopilot Destinations :D
This already exists. You hold down the alt key or something to set waypoints on your autopilot.

This idea is pretty good, hopefully i can get around to it.
I didnt know that, cool! :D

Thanks for adding a few good ideas :D

User avatar
JuliusCaesar
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 9:23 pm
Location: Middle of nj, usa

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by JuliusCaesar » Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:30 am

Toonces wrote:
JesusRocks765 wrote:and if your gonna enhance that, please add a hotkey you hold down and then set multiple Autopilot Destinations :D
This already exists. You hold down the alt key or something to set waypoints on your autopilot.

This idea is pretty good, hopefully i can get around to it.
mind=blown

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by StarLAN » Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:08 pm

Toonces wrote:
JesusRocks765 wrote:and if your gonna enhance that, please add a hotkey you hold down and then set multiple Autopilot Destinations :D
This already exists. You hold down the alt key or something to set waypoints on your autopilot.

This idea is pretty good, hopefully i can get around to it.
:D

JesusRocks765
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:57 am

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by JesusRocks765 » Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:33 am

StarLAN wrote:
Toonces wrote:
JesusRocks765 wrote:and if your gonna enhance that, please add a hotkey you hold down and then set multiple Autopilot Destinations :D
This already exists. You hold down the alt key or something to set waypoints on your autopilot.

This idea is pretty good, hopefully i can get around to it.
:D
And after over 2 months - He still hasn't gotten around to it :/

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced

Post by StarLAN » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:42 am

This idea is pretty good, hopefully i can get around to it.[/quote]
:D[/quote]
And after over 2 months - He still hasn't gotten around to it :/[/quote]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
It's been longer than that! :-(

User avatar
GuardianDragon
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: internal peace
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by GuardianDragon » Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:22 am

well at least there's a /port command now XD

User avatar
Toonces
Site Admin
Posts: 1608
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:23 am
Location: Beta Canum Venaticorum
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by Toonces » Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:43 am

StarLAN wrote:I would like to see an Enhanced GoTo Command:
This feature would allow the goto feature bring your ship to a specified sector and planet (or port) and then land on that planet. example:

/goto Alpha Mensae 1a - (for planet landing)
-or-
/goto [541,730,1a] - (for planet landing)
-------------------------------------------------
/goto Alpha Mensae port - (for port docking)
-or-
/goto [541,730,p] - (for port docking)

This idea would be helpful in the event you had to leave the room while in mid flight, you ship would find it's destination and then land there keeping you safe from impending doom you may run into while floating in space.
It would also be helpful if you suffered from short-term memory loss (support the handicapped) and could not remember the sector and planet/port that you were heading to. You could key the goto location of an artifact, home sector, or port for safe haven against pirates, bad NPC's (great for beginners)

I think this idea has merrit and would like feedback from other players, please.
Ok, some features have been added to address this.

ItsMcCrazy
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Rebangs/IGH

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by ItsMcCrazy » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:23 am

Typing in /go with whatever system you had selected on map was awesome...but doesn't work anymore :(

User avatar
Toonces
Site Admin
Posts: 1608
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:23 am
Location: Beta Canum Venaticorum
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by Toonces » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:40 am

ItsMcCrazy wrote:Typing in /go with whatever system you had selected on map was awesome...but doesn't work anymore :(
Sure it does, give it a try ;)

User avatar
Patrikc
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by Patrikc » Wed Jun 12, 2013 5:08 pm

/go has not worked for me in months...

Catfish
Posts: 1896
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by Catfish » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:24 pm

alt + i
will resume course

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by StarLAN » Sat Mar 07, 2015 10:20 pm

Toonces wrote:
StarLAN wrote:I would like to see an Enhanced GoTo Command:
This feature would allow the goto feature bring your ship to a specified sector and planet (or port) and then land on that planet. example:

/goto Alpha Mensae 1a - (for planet landing)
-or-
/goto [541,730,1a] - (for planet landing)
-------------------------------------------------
/goto Alpha Mensae port - (for port docking)
-or-
/goto [541,730,p] - (for port docking)

This idea would be helpful in the event you had to leave the room while in mid flight, you ship would find it's destination and then land there keeping you safe from impending doom you may run into while floating in space.
It would also be helpful if you suffered from short-term memory loss (support the handicapped) and could not remember the sector and planet/port that you were heading to. You could key the goto location of an artifact, home sector, or port for safe haven against pirates, bad NPC's (great for beginners)
I think this idea has merrit and would like feedback from other players, please.
-----------------------------
Ok, some features have been added to address this.
=====================================
I see you have made some changes in this area, I like them!
Thank you!

User avatar
StarLAN
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:50 pm
Location: Columbia, TN
Contact:

Re: GoTo Command Enhanced - Official Request

Post by StarLAN » Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:23 pm

Me Likes... :-) - - - Thank You!
-
* Improvements to /go command. You can now specify a planet or port in the name, such as:

/go alpha centauri IIIb or

/go port alpha centauri or

/go alpha centauri 3b or

/go [123,123] IVa

These arguments also work with the /map command.

Post Reply