[BUG] Half of ship covered in black

Report bugs for Starport:GE

Moderators: Moleman, Kwijibo, Luna

Post Reply
User avatar
Stormy
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:11 am

[BUG] Half of ship covered in black

Post by Stormy » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:39 am

All serverd for me - I coem out of port and half of my ship is covered in black ??

User avatar
Freakazoid
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Neverwhere

Post by Freakazoid » Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:24 am

Ghostlogic (200.Penguins) had the same problem. Never bothered to fix it though :lol:

spheny
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:58 pm

Post by spheny » Mon Sep 01, 2008 4:26 pm

Hey everyone. Been a while since I played (a year and a half...), but I thought I'd start up again. I had the same problem when I logged in, but if you download the version from download.com and update it from there, you should be ok. This seemed to fix a lot of errors for me in the past.

spheny
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:58 pm

Post by spheny » Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:43 pm

Ok, I got this bug agin, and now every time I'm above another ship, I can't see them either! Nothing has worked in my efforts to fix it. Mabey a new patch will fix it or something. Any suggestions?

TT
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:11 pm

Post by TT » Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:16 am

I just got my buddy into this game and he is having the same problem... is there a fix?

He has a Compaq running windows Vista and i believe an Intel Integrated graphics chip

Thanks

Oh and he already has the latest drivers

User avatar
KG
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:19 am

Post by KG » Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:32 pm

TT wrote:I just got my buddy into this game and he is having the same problem... is there a fix?

He has a Compaq running windows Vista and i believe an Intel Integrated graphics chip

Thanks

Oh and he already has the latest drivers
I've got a laptop with an integrated Intel chip running Vista, and the only way I've ever been able to fix it is to run Starport under Linux through WINE. Apparently there are some basic DirectX calls not supported by an integrated chip under Windows, but Linux uses its own drivers.

KG

Nertanef
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 10:12 pm

Post by Nertanef » Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:59 am

its your graphics card, Viper1 played for years without seeing half the screen, he used the radar ;p

User avatar
Paradox_moth
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:19 pm
Location: Vulture (my ship)

Post by Paradox_moth » Tue Sep 30, 2008 2:45 pm

well its not much and ight not be it, but go into the starport ge file click data then ships and look for the ships name, and normal next to it. if you only see half the ship in the thing then thats your problem. bet then again,, there might be a problem with your computer or something else, hence this is just a suggestion.

Post Reply